Saturday
January 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 16, 2015

Fed begins two-day meeting to decide on interest rate hike

Top officials at the US Federal Reserve today began a two-day policy meeting that is narrowly expected to end without an interest rate hike.

Policymakers are considering a rate increase to keep America's strengthening economy from overheating, a decision that could potentially roil financial markets around the world.

The meeting began at 1 p.m. EDT (1700 GMT), a Fed official said in an email. After Wednesday's meeting, the central bankers are due to reconvene Thursday morning and announce their decision at 2 p.m. EDT (1800 GMT).

Global banks and investment funds see the chances for a rate increase as essentially a toss up, although most experts see a slightly higher probability for standing pat.

  • CommentComment
  • Increase font size Decrease font sizeSize
  • Email article
    email
  • Print
    Print
  • Share
    1. Vote
    2. Not interesting Little interesting Interesting Very interesting Indispensable
Tags:  Fed  meeting  minutes  Yellen  US  economy  rates  





  • Comment
  • Increase font size Decrease font size
  • mail
  • Print

COMMENTS >

Comment




    ámbito financiero    ambito.com    Docsalud    AlRugby.com    

Edition No. 5055 - This publication is a property of NEFIR S.A. -RNPI Nº 5343955 - Issn 1852 - 9224 - Te. 4349-1500 - San Juan 141 , (C1063ACY) CABA - Director Perdiodístico: Ricardo Daloia