November 24, 2017
Thursday, August 21, 2014

Tough debut for Schwartzman, Mónaco in US Open

File photo of tennis player Juan ''Pico'' Mónaco.
File photo of tennis player Juan ''Pico'' Mónaco.
File photo of tennis player Juan ''Pico'' Mónaco.

The men’s and women’s draws of the final grand slam of 2014 were revealed today in New York as the US Open starts on Monday in Flushing Meadows, and Argentine players were not benefited with a lucky start.

One of the best ranked Argentine tennis player to play the tournament this year, Diego Schwartzman, who currently occupies 92nd position, will have the worst debut possible, playing against Serbian Novak “Nole” Djokovic, number one in the ATP world rankings.

Meanwhile, Juan Mónaco will have a difficult start at the grand slam as well, as he will face a top-ten player in the debut. “Pico”, ranked 72, will play against France’s Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, seeded number nine, after recently re-entering the top 100.

Both Mónaco and Schwartzman were drafted in the upper left side of the drop, together with other top seeded players such as Britain’s Andy Murray (number eight) and local John Isner (number 13).

In other matches, Leonardo Mayer (64 in the ATP) will face the always recilient Spanish Albert Montañés, while Federico Delbonis (n°39) will play against US Noah Rubin and Carlos Berlocq (n°44) will face Israeli Dudi Sela.

The only Argentine representative in the women’s edition will be Paula Ormaechea, who will play against Italian Roberta Vinci, seeded 28 in the Open.

  • CommentComment
  • Increase font size Decrease font sizeSize
  • Email article
  • Print
  • Share
    1. Vote
    2. Not interesting Little interesting Interesting Very interesting Indispensable
Tags:  US Open  drop  debut  Schwartzman  Mónaco  

  • Comment
  • Increase font size Decrease font size
  • mail
  • Print



    ámbito financiero    Docsalud    

Edition No. 5055 - This publication is a property of NEFIR S.A. -RNPI Nº 5343955 - Issn 1852 - 9224 - Te. 4349-1500 - San Juan 141 , (C1063ACY) CABA - Director Perdiodístico: Ricardo Daloia