December 15, 2017
Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Davis Cup: Argentina to face Israel

Argentina’s Davis Cup team will visit Israel in September 12th to face the local team in the World Group play-offs, to avoid being relegated from the Davis Cup World Group, according to the Draw for the 2014 Cup held today at the headquarters of the International Tennis Federation (ITF) in London.

After losing the first round 3-1 to Italy in February, Argentina hopes to remain in the World Group in 2015. In the play-offs that will take place from September 12th to 14th, eight nations that have lost in the first round of the World Group this year now have a chance to win and stay in the Davis elite Group next year.

Israel, 19th in the nations ranking, is aiming to return to the World Group after a one year absence. Given its individual and nacional ranking, Israel is considered a rather easy rival for the Argentine team, but Argentine captain, Martín Jaite, won’t be counting with the team’s key player, Juan Martín del Potro, who ruled himself out of the team in February to show his disappointment with the Argentine Tennis Association (AAT), and is currently out of the tennis courts after undergoing surgery on his left wrist in March.

The team for the play-offs will most likely be formed by the players from the last series: Juan Mónaco, Carlos Berlocq, Horacio Zeballos, Leonardo Mayer, Federico Delbonis and Guido Pella.

These are the other teams that will be playing next September, according to ITF's Draw:





United States-Slovak Republic



  • CommentComment
  • Increase font size Decrease font sizeSize
  • Email article
  • Print
  • Share
    1. Vote
    2. Not interesting Little interesting Interesting Very interesting Indispensable
Tags:  tennis  Davis Cup  

  • Comment
  • Increase font size Decrease font size
  • mail
  • Print



    ámbito financiero    Docsalud    

Edition No. 5055 - This publication is a property of NEFIR S.A. -RNPI Nº 5343955 - Issn 1852 - 9224 - Te. 4349-1500 - San Juan 141 , (C1063ACY) CABA - Director Perdiodístico: Ricardo Daloia