December 17, 2017
Sunday, March 23, 2014

Los Pampas XV crowned Pacific Cup champions

Argentina's international rugby B team Los Pampas XV are celebrating today after lifting the Pacific Cup in Australia, downing Reds A in the final 36-21 to cap an unbeaten campaign in the tournament.

With today's result in Sydney's TG Milner stadium Argentina marked their second triumph in the competition. In 2011 the side prevailed in the Vodacom Cup in South Africa, the predecessor of the current Pacific trophy.

The team, coached by Martín Gaitán and Raúl Pérez, had made the final after leading Group B with consecutive triumphs over ACT A, Waratahs A, Samoa A and Tonga A. Martín Landajo and Manuel Montero, with two tries each, were the Pampas top scorers, and both crossed the line today as the Argentines fought to victory.

For Gaitán, who was congratulated after the game by current Pumas coach Daniel Hourcade, highlighted the strength of his players in coming back after relinquishing the lead following half time.

"The most positive things is that we were behind on the scoreboard, we dealt with the pressure and we managed to impose our playing style. Despite winning the titles there are still things to work on and that is what we will take away," he maintained.
  • CommentComment
  • Increase font size Decrease font sizeSize
  • Email article
  • Print
  • Share
    1. Vote
    2. Not interesting Little interesting Interesting Very interesting Indispensable
Tags:  Los Pampas  Pacific Cup  champions  Argentina  

  • Comment
  • Increase font size Decrease font size
  • mail
  • Print



    ámbito financiero    Docsalud    

Edition No. 5055 - This publication is a property of NEFIR S.A. -RNPI Nº 5343955 - Issn 1852 - 9224 - Te. 4349-1500 - San Juan 141 , (C1063ACY) CABA - Director Perdiodístico: Ricardo Daloia