December 14, 2017

Motor rally — Dakar

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Peterhansel wins 9th stage

France''s Stephane Peterhansel drives his Mini.
France''s Stephane Peterhansel drives his Mini.
France''s Stephane Peterhansel drives his Mini.

IQUIQUE, Chile — Eleven-time winner Stéphane Peterhansel won the ninth stage of the Dakar Rally yesterday, edging him closer to the overall lead in cars with four stages remaining. The Frenchman finished 2 minutes, 17 seconds, ahead of Nasser Al-Attiyah of Qatar and 11:36 clear of overall leader Nani Roma of Spain. The stage took riders across the Atacama desert from Calama to Iquique.

Roma leads Peterhansel by 12:10 in the overall with Orlando Terranova of Argentina nearly an hour behind. Behind the fight between the leading duo, the day was marked by the technical problems endured by Carlos Sainz, who broke a suspension arm after 195 km and had to re-join the bivouac in Iquique at a snail’s pace. It also witnessed a struggle for the third step on the podium between Terranova and Giniel De Villiers. The Argentine, despite a puncture, enjoyed the better of the day, thanks to two punctures and also navigation problems for his South African rival. The outcome is a gain of 8:43’ for “Orly” who climbs back into third place in the general standings.

In bikes, overall leader Marc Coma of Spain won the stage and stretched his advantage over countryman Joan Barreda Bort to 55:36. Coma won the stage, 5:45 ahead of Cyril Despres of France and 9:00 in front of Spaniard Juan Pedrero García.

Today’s 10th stage heads south from Iquique to Antofagasta.


  • Increase font size Decrease font sizeSize
  • Email article
  • Print
  • Share
    1. Vote
    2. Not interesting Little interesting Interesting Very interesting Indispensable

  • Increase font size Decrease font size
  • mail
  • Print

    ámbito financiero    Docsalud    

Edition No. 5055 - This publication is a property of NEFIR S.A. -RNPI Nº 5343955 - Issn 1852 - 9224 - Te. 4349-1500 - San Juan 141 , (C1063ACY) CABA - Director Perdiodístico: Ricardo Daloia