April 24, 2014
Wednesday, December 18, 2013

Greenpeace activists included in Russian amnesty

Argentine activists held in Russia.
The Russian Parliament has confirmed the decision to grant amnesties to 30 Greenpeace activists who were imprisoned on charge of vandalism for protesting in the Arctic Circle, among them Argentines Hernán Pérez Orsi and Camila Speziale.

The environmental organisation released a statement today revealing that the Duma had approved an amendment extending a general amnesty decree to those detained on the Arctic Sunrise ship in September 2013.

Another high-profile case, that of the Russian band Pussy Riot, was also included as members Nadezhda Tolokonnikova and Maria Alyokhina were granted early release from a two-year sentence imposed for an anti-Putin protest in a Moscow cathedral.

As confirmed by Greenpeace, the activists will be heading home unless the entire amnesty project is now rejected; a possibility that the organisation described as "highly unlikely".

"This process is almost over, but it is no reason to celebrate. I do not feel we should go out and celebrate because we were in prison two months for a crime we did not commit," Speziale asserted upon hearing the news.

"I am happy to be able to go back home, but I will not be truly happy until we can assure the Arctic's protection."

Orsi, meanwhile, revealed that he was "Very happy and relieved to have the chance to go back home."
  • CommentComment
  • Increase font size Decrease font sizeSize
  • Email article
  • Print
  • Share
    1. Vote
    2. Not interesting Little interesting Interesting Very interesting Indispensable
Tags:  Greenpeace  amnesty  Putin  activists  Russia  Argentina  

  • Comment
  • Increase font size Decrease font size
  • mail
  • Print



Grupo ámbito ámbito financiero Docsalud Premium El Ciudadano El Tribuno Management

Director: Orlando Mario Vignatti - Edition No. 4109 - This publication is a property of NEFIR S.A. - RNPI Nº 5099332 - Issn 1852 - 9224 - Te. 4349-1500 - San Juan 141 , (C1063ACY) CABA