January 17, 2018
Sunday, February 24, 2013

Schoolyear to begin with massive nationwide teachers strike

The 2013 school year will begin with empty classrooms in most of the country’s 24 provinces due to a strike led by several teachers’ unions resulted from their failure to reach a salary agreement with the Government.

Only students in eight provinces will be attending classes normally, according to a new school schedule that looks to reach 190 school days, just like last year.

Schools in at least fifteen provinces (Buenos Aires, Santa Fe, Córdoba, Mendoza, Neuquén, Río Negro, Chubut, Santa Cruz, San Juan, Catamarca, Tucumán, Corrientes, Santiago del Estero, Entre Ríos and La Pampa) will not be opening their doors on Monday.

In the city of Buenos Aires, the school year is scheduled to begin on Wednesday but teachers will only announce one day before whether they accept or not the City Government’s offer to a 26 percent salary increase, which will be paid in two installments.

The school year will begin regularly in San Luis, Formosa, Chaco, La Rioja, Salta, Jujuy, Misiones and Tierra del Fuego.

  • CommentComment
  • Increase font size Decrease font sizeSize
  • Email article
  • Print
  • Share
    1. Vote
    2. Not interesting Little interesting Interesting Very interesting Indispensable
Tags:  eight  provinces  strike  

  • Comment
  • Increase font size Decrease font size
  • mail
  • Print



    ámbito financiero    Docsalud    

Edition No. 5055 - This publication is a property of NEFIR S.A. -RNPI Nº 5343955 - Issn 1852 - 9224 - Te. 4349-1500 - San Juan 141 , (C1063ACY) CABA - Director Perdiodístico: Ricardo Daloia