January 21, 2018
Friday, June 29, 2012

Venezuela to become full member of Mercosur, Paraguay suspended

Argentine President Cristina Fernandez de Kirchner (C) delivers a speech during the plenary of the XLIII Mercosur presidential summit in Mendoza, 1050 Km west of Buenos Aires, Argentina on June 29, 2012.

Foreign Minister Héctor Timerman announced today Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay’s decision to make Venezuela an official member of the Mercosur trade bloc. In addition, Paraguay was officially suspended, until the country’s authorities are renewed.

The announcement was made this afternoon before government ministers and heads of state from across the region as President Cristina Fernández de Kirchner read out the final conclusions of the Mercosur summit, taking place in Mendoza province.

Venezuela’s official inauguration to the trade bloc will take place on July 31 in Río de Janeiro, Brazil.

The final resolution also included, the suspension of Paraguay until the administration of the country is changed.

“The Mercosur will respect the wishes of the Paraguayan people, by having free and democratic elections,” Fernández de Kirchner said today.



  • CommentComment
  • Increase font size Decrease font sizeSize
  • Email article
  • Print
  • Share
    1. Vote
    2. Not interesting Little interesting Interesting Very interesting Indispensable
Tags:  Héctor Timerman  Argentina  Brazil  Paraguay  Uruguay  Mercosur  

  • Comment
  • Increase font size Decrease font size
  • mail
  • Print



    ámbito financiero    Docsalud    

Edition No. 5055 - This publication is a property of NEFIR S.A. -RNPI Nº 5343955 - Issn 1852 - 9224 - Te. 4349-1500 - San Juan 141 , (C1063ACY) CABA - Director Perdiodístico: Ricardo Daloia